Workshop 2000 Participants

Our goal is change. By showcasing excellent examples of racial and ethnic coverage in America, we aim to spur better performance in this vital realm by newspaper and television newsrooms. So, for the second year, we invited journalists from an array of news organizations to share their distinguished work with media “gatekeepers” drawn from across the nation – news executives who have the authority to trigger change. Participants at the Columbia Workshop on Journalism, Race and Ethnicity, held June 9-11 2000 with Ford Foundation support, judged the sessions successful. And with renewed Ford support, more workshops are planned under a new director, Arlene Morgan, a former assistant managing editor at The Philadelphia Inquirer. See the back cover for details. Meanwhile, in the pages ahead, we offer highlights from Workshop 2000.  — Sig Gissler, Outgoing Workshop Director


NEWSPAPER HONOREES                                              

Gabriel Escobar, city editor, The Washington Post    

Angelo Henderson, reporter, The Wall Street Journal

Stephen Magagnini, reporter, Sacramento Bee

Newsday, represented by Charlotte Hall, managing editor

Lonnae O’Neal Parker, reporter, The Washington Post

The San Jose Mercury News, represented by Jeanne Mariani-Belding, race & demographics editor

Aaron McGruder, creator of comic strip “The Boondocks”



Alden Bourne, producer, CBS News “60 Minutes”

CBS News, represented by Andrew Heyward, president, and Dan Rather, anchor

Barbara Ciara, anchor, WVEC-TV, Norfolk, Va.

Paul Gallagher, producer, CBS News “60 Minutes”

Emiko Omori, filmmaker, “Rabbit in the Moon”

Lynn Redmond, producer, ABC News “20/20”

WTVJ-TV, Miami, represented by Don Browne, president and general manager



Peter Canellos, assistant managing editor, The Boston Globe

Deborah Goeken, managing editor, The Denver Rocky Mountain News

Rosemary Goudreau, managing editor, The Cincinnati Enquirer

Jeannine Guttman, editor, Portland Press Herald/Maine Sunday Telegram, Portland, Maine

Anders Gyllenhaal, executive editor, The News & Observer, Raleigh, N.C.

Thomas Heslin, metropolitan managing editor, The Providence Journal, Providence, R.I.

Kathleen Rutledge, managing editor, Lincoln Journal Star, Lincoln, Neb.

Eunice Trotter, associate editor, The News-Sentinel, Fort Wayne, Ind.

Chris Waddle, executive editor, The Anniston Star, Anniston, Ala.

Ken Wells, correspondents editor, The Wall Street Journal

Don Wycliff, editorial page editor, The Chicago Tribune

Harry Ziegler, managing editor, The Asbury Park Press, Neptune, N.J.



Willie Chriesman, vice president-news, WVTM-TV, Birmingham, Ala.

Michael Devlin, news director, KHOU-TV, Houston

Ramon Escobar, executive producer, MSNBC, Secaucus, N.J.

Sidmel Estes-Sumpter, executive director, WAGA-TV, Atlanta, Ga.

Gena Fitzgerald, senior producer, NBC Nightly News, Washington, D.C

Lucy Himstedt, vice president/general manager, WFIE-TV, Evansville, Ind.

Tamara McGregor, executive news director, KREM-TV, Spokane, Wash.

Philip O’Brien, managing editor, WNBC-TV, New York City



Arlene Morgan, assistant managing editor, The Philadelphia Inquirer (incoming workshop director)           

E.R. Shipp, ombudsman, The Washington Post

Sheila Stainback, news anchor, Court TV, New York City